Eligibility | Employees
DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY AUDIT
Starting March 6, 2023, the Benefit Services Audit Team will be mailing letters and sending emails to some of our members requesting documentation supporting their dependent(s) eligibility for benefits. Please rest assured that this is a legitimate request under the Arizona Administrative Code R2-6-303.
If you received a letter or email, only submit documents to the Audit Team as instructed in the request. Do not submit documents to [email protected].
For questions, contact our Audit Department at 602-771-1300 or [email protected].Read More
You and your eligible dependents may participate in the Benefits Options program if:
- You are an active employee of the State or a State University and are regularly scheduled to work 20 hours or more per week for at least 90 days or longer; OR
- You are a seasonal, temporary, or variable-hour employee that has been paid for an average of at least 30 hours per week using a 12-month measurement period.
To maintain eligibility through the annual standard measurement period of October 10th each year through October 9th of the following year, regularly scheduled employees must be paid for a minimum of 1,040 hours per year; seasonal, temporary or variable hour employees must be paid for a minimum of 1,560 hours per year.
Spouse & Dependents
- Your legal spouse
- Your child(ren) under 26 years old defined as:
- Your natural child, adopted child, stepchild, foster child, or a child for whom you have court-ordered guardianship.
- Your child who is disabled and continues to be disabled as defined by 42 U.S.C. 1382c before the age of 26.
For dependents being enrolled for the first time in the following categories: your legal spouse; your child(ren) under age 26 defined as: natural, adopted, step, foster, under court-ordered placement pending adoption or guardianship. Submit the birth/marriage certificate and applicable court order within 14 days to complete processing. Federal law requires a Social Security Number (SSN) for all dependents enrolled in State plans. Failure to submit documents will result in disenrollment. View the Supporting Documentation List.
DUPLICATE/DUAL ENROLLMENT - BOTH SPOUSES STATE EMPLOYEES
- Duplicate/dual enrollment in State plans is prohibited and will be terminated with no refunds for the premiums paid. For spouses who are State and/or a State University employees and/or retirees, these rules apply:
- You cannot enroll each other as dependents, nor have your children enrolled twice.
- One spouse may elect coverage for the entire family, or each spouse may elect their own individual coverage.
- Dependent children can be on one spouse's policy or divided between spouses.
- If your child is a State and/or State University employee, he/she cannot be enrolled as a single subscriber in a State plan and as a dependent on your policy.
- You cannot enroll simultaneously as a single subscriber in the retiree medical, dental, and/or vision plans for the Arizona Department of Administration (ADOA) AND the Arizona State Retirement System (ASRS).
ADDING/REMOVING COVERAGE - QUALIFIED LIFE EVENTS
To learn more about adding or removing your spouse and dependents from your benefits, visit the Qualified Life Events page.
Returning from an Approved Leave
If coverage was modified at the initiation of leave, you must elect your previous level of medical, dental and/or vision coverage. Premiums must be current or you may not re-elect any coverage until the next open enrollment period.